Thoughts about blogging // Excerpt of my NaNoWriMo-Novel

Hey you out there! I just realized something important. I don’t want to be somebody who blogs just to blog. Blogging is great if you have to say something important, but doing it for the sake of just saying something or advertising your stuff again – that’s nothing I can and will do. Regular blogging is just not my cup of tea.

I made this blog to talk about my writing, but to be honest, writing is most of the time an isolated activity, boring for everybody but the writer. It’s not as if you have something interesting to say about it every week or so…

The bestselling novelist Jackie Collins once said: “A lot of people talk about writing. The secret is to write, not talk.” And that’s what I was doing the last months. I finished another short story, continued or started three others, edited and extended a fantasy book I had written and am taking part in the (Inter)National Novel Writing Month. That means I wrote about 20k words in the last two weeks and am a bit behind schedule now (NaNoWriMo is about writing a Novel of 50k words in November).

To come to the end of this post: This blog is not dead, it’s just not my top priority – which is and should be writing. 🙂

As a treat, I’ll present you here the first ~600 unedited words of my NaNoWriMo-Novel. Have fun!

I’m small, nearly childlike. Easy to overlook in a crowded room like this. Easy to underestimate. I would carelessly bet half the gold in my pocket, that nobody in this tavern knew who I was. And I would bet the other half of that gold, that everybody had heard about me. I’m Haven. Which is my name and, you could say, my profession.

This tavern is on a fourthworld, so it’s pretty far away from the main action in our universe. Not many travelers from firstworlds stray that far and the only ones I recognize are from this axis’ firstworld. Every seventhworld bumpkin can recognize a cross-axis traveler but not many people are able to recognize another traveler’s origin, which is one of my lesser talents and quite handy. You recognize travelers because they’re more there than normal folks. Every time you cross the Mediani, your aura gets more present. It’s hard to explain if you haven’t seen it. I miss the Mediani, but there’s a job to do and I won’t leave Aer-4 before it’s finished. One way or another.

I took another sip from my mug of crystal clear water. Another advantage of my looks: A small girl with short, boyish hair and big eyes can order water in a tavern without the barkeeper spitting in it before serving. I had already finished my meal and was getting drowsy. About a week ago, I had still been on Aer-1, where the contract was made. Traveling from there to Aer-2 and further to Aer-3 and now Aer-4 had been surprisingly easy, but nevertheless exhausting.

The worlds on the Aer-axis consist mostly of high Mountains, sharp Rocks, steep Cliffs and a few oceans in between. This far out on the axis, there wasn’t a single flat place which wasn’t human made.They don’t even have a word for calm or windless here, because it just never happens. The whole transportation business is reduced to the Rokh, really big birds the size of the dragons on Fyr-3 if you have ever been there. The Aer use the male birds for cargo and the faster female birds for messages and traveling. Once you get used to it, it’s quite comfortable and their thick feathery coat is keeping you warm.
But no matter how comfortable, traveling is still tiring and the Gates hadn’t been that easy to find at all. Still, I was on time, nothing you could say about my customer.
I let my eyes wander about the other patrons. Most were males, which wasn’t surprising. This was a trading post and merchants as well as their guards and aviators were traditionally male. On my way here I had been to another outpost where nearly everybody was female. You may have guessed it already: Messengers and their aviators where traditionally female.
The dominating color was stone gray, since the most worn fabric was Rokh leather, which turned gray over time. The men had braided colorful feathers in their long hair, which needed getting used to. If you were from the Aer folk, you could recognize tribes, status and homeworld from the braids and feathers. The merchants, at least the richer ones, had brown leather outfits like my own, which clearly were from their firstworld or even from another axis. Normally I’m not the one for leather, but it was too windy for my normal clothes. You needed at least leather or even fur to keep warm against the chilling wind.

Leave a Reply

